Prompt Response: Be the change

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Be the Change.”

I have never blogged consistently for a very long period of time. I have created several blogs in the past, all with great intentions, but none that fulfilled those intentions. It’s difficult to faithfully share on my blog given the season of life I am currently living. I have also not given much thought to the prompt by The Daily Post of how I would like my blog to make a change in the world.

I think that first, my act of writing a blog must make a change in myself. I am initially concerned so much about the (possible) perceptions others have of me and my blog that I actually hesitate and often do not post; or I’ll post but I’ll restrain my true thoughts on various matters. My first change, as a person and then as a blogger, is to care less about the thoughts and opinions of others so that I care more about truth and standing up for justice. This is not to say that I want to be careless of others’ feelings, thoughts, and emotions or how I come across to others, but rather I want to rid myself of the paralysis I have of being unhealthily concerned. I also must come to terms that it is “okay” for other people to dislike, hate, be offended by, disagree with, and be bored with who I am and what I have to say. Only after I have mastered this change, will my writings ever be able to make a change themselves.

Leave a Reply

